Kennedy’s coming out win tainted by Camacho DQ

Kennedy’s coming out win tainted by Camacho DQ

The coming out party of Cardiff’s Craig Kennedy (10-0, 5KO) was over before it caught fire as London’s Wadi Camacho (12-4, 8KO) was disqualified in the second round. Referee Martin Williams deemed Camacho to have bitten Kennedy’s neck in the main event for Sanigar Events’ ‘Dragon Fire’ show at the Rhydycar Leisure Centre in Merthyr Tydfil. The cruiserweights were locked in a clinch along the ropes when Kennedy recoiled in discomfort. It prompted the referee, who was stood less than a metre away, to break up the heated embrace and end the contest six rounds short of it’s scheduled distance. The disqualification win has been added to Kennedy’s record but the 29-year-old felt disappointed that he hadn’t been given the opportunity to win in a conclusive manner, although Kennedy conceded that he had to agree with the decision the referee made. It’s understandable that Kennedy may look at the fight as a missed opportunity, given that he was stepping up to domestic class for the first time in his career. Kennedy had the platform of Eurosport television coverage, going live to over 100 countries across the world, but not the luck. Many pre-fight predictions included a fast start for Camacho, who has scored six stoppages in the first three rounds, but the reality was the polar opposite. Keen to impose his size advantage on to his Welsh opponent, Camacho plodded forward from the opening bell but it was to little success. In the first round, Camacho walked on to several sharp counters from Kennedy, most notably a straight right hand that bloodied his nose and moments later, the Welshman landed a solid left hook that jolted Camacho’s legs. In the second round, Camacho had brief success with the jab, catching Kennedy flush but he struggled to land anything else that was meaningful, even when Kennedy was cornered. Camacho, who won the Prizefighter tournament last year, strongly protested against the bite accusation as he bled from his left eye and he believed the ending to be unjust. The southpaw has now lost back-to-back contests for the first time in his career. Speaking minutes after the fight, Kennedy told BoxingWales.com that a rematch would be welcome, regardless of any proposed location.

Multimag Comments

We love comments
No Comments Yet! You can be first to comment this post!

Your data will be safe! Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person. Required fields marked as *